top of page

London Marathon Ballot

Every year the club is given one or two places for the London Marathon.  These club places are allocated through a ballot process, normally held at the end of November's Galaxy Run.  A member wishing to enter the ballot must meet the following criteria:

  • The runner must be a first claim DRR;

  • The runner must have been rejected by the original ballot;

  • The runner must have been a member at the time of the official London ballot opening;

  • The runner must be an active DRR and Scottish Athletics member, either running 4 Scottish Athletics races or being a volunteer at 4 races in the previous year (from 1st November to 31st October) . The final decision will rest with the committee.

  • The runner must not have been allocated a club ballot place within the last 5 years

  • The runner must not have accepted a charity place prior to the ballot.

Previous Winners (the year is the draw date, with the race being the following year):

2023: Susan Smith and Barbara Brown

2022: Jim Morton and Ben Gibson

2021: No draw due to COVID-19 pandemic

2020: Hector Waudby-West

2019: Victoria Simpson and Donald Walker

2018: Tricia Smith; Simon Knox

2017: Linda Craddock; Scott James

2016: David Robertson

2015: Grant Whytock, Peter Derrick

2014: Derek Anderson

bottom of page